Thank you

My blog is doing really well, better than I ever expected, and I owe that to you. So thanks. If I could, I would send each and every one of you this e-card.

Instead of filing expense reports or cruising Missed Connections, over 2500 of you are electing to spend an average of :57 seconds here. That might not seem like a long time, but it is. This morning I stared at the office microwave waiting for my Mac&Cheese water to boil and I lost all patience after 30 seconds. I ended up eating a not-so-distant cousin of the arts and crafts necklace:

necklace.jpg

(That’s mostly funny because I work for a summer camp provider.)

Tonight, instead of blogging, I opted to go drinking with good friends off the Clinton Washington stop. While this might mean my daily post suffers in substance, it also means I’m not willing to at stay home, sober, just to write about Jerry Falwell’s death. I wonder if gays, feminists, and lesbians had anything to do with his fatal collapse?

Lately, I’ve been…inordinately happy. And it crept up on me. I feel exactly like Jane Kenyon’s speaker in “The Suitor”:

We lie back to back. Curtains

lift and fall,

like the chest of someone sleeping.

Wind moves the leaves of the box elder;

they show their light undersides,

turning all at once

like a school of fish.

Suddenly I understand that I am happy.

For months this feeling

has been coming closer, stopping

for short visits, like a timid suitor.

I’ll be back tomorrow with a travel adventure. For now, content yourselves with this video of me and Ashley perfecting a little mid-day Electric Slide:

Josh shot the footage. Check out his blog here.

XO,

Becca

5 responses to “Thank you

  1. personally i hope he had a heart attack after seeing some gays kissing in the street or something.

    great blog!

  2. I should just be a professional video recorder. Let me know if you want me to record you two doing a line dance or something, lol!

  3. i can’t BELIEVE you referenced the electric slide today – i JUST put up a picture last night on my myspace profile – http://www.myspace.com/camcamk – of me leading the electric slide at an 80’s dance last weekend! it’s my main pic right now… and now the stars have aligned and the earth is at one…
    love you miss you!!!!

  4. cool

  5. It’s gonna be great! 2 Videos are up already, and I added a cool “How you have fun” page.. it’s going to be a huge success 😉

Leave a Reply

