7 Petra-fied World Wonders

On July 7th, 2007 (777), The New Open World Corperation revealed the results of its pole recasting the 7 Wonders of The World. I didn’t know this was allowed—a Swiss businessman and adventurer going all American Idol on heritage sites? I grew up reading those brightly colored Childcraft books which, to a kid, seemed beyond revision. Even if Phidius’ Statue of Zeus did get lost (how do you lose an entire giant Zeus?) it was still set in encyclopedic stone as a Wonder. Reprinting glossy books is expensive.

Interestingly enough, the pyramids at Giza did not make the Top 7. Egyptian officials were “disgraced” they even had to compete, seeing as how the pyramids are the only surviving structure from the original Wonders. The NOWC then assured Egyptians that the new 7 were merely additional wonders and that the pyramids would retain primacy. Uh-huh. They tacked them on at the end as honorary number 8. So…I guess Kimberley Locke was really singing about Giza? Poor Pyramids. I haven’t forgotten those generic swim participation ribbons I got when I didn’t place.

There were some Mitt Romney’s of the competition, including Germany’s Neuschwanstein Castle. I’m not sure I would have felt comfortable with Sleeping Beauty’s Disneyland crib ousting the Mausoleum of Halicarnassus—although I would like to someday see the Mausoleum of Halicarnassus as a Magic Kingdom ride.

I’m surprised that Jordan’s Petra beat out Stonehenge. I thought Petra was just the supermodel who survived the 2004 Tsumani.

petra.jpgjordanpetra.jpg

Sure, clinging to a tree for 8 hours with a shattered pelvis is a wonder, but do people count? Then I’d like to nominate Elizabeth Edwards. Especially after that Oprah interview (the woman gave birth at 50!) Maybe a Wonder should consistantly make you cry.

With the consistantly-make-you-cry rule, my 7 Newly New are:

1)Boss

2)Elizabeth Edwards on Oprah (I cry more when Oprah is there)

3)This Thai Life Insurance Commercial, the saddest thing I have ever seen. If I qualified for Thai Life Insurance I would buy it. I might try anyway but I can’t dial internationally from my office. Don’t say you weren’t forewarned…

4)The ending of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I don’t know the ending yet, but come on, there are hallows. And they’re deathly.

5)This song. Oh, this song.

6)The original 1974 Benji movie, especially the scene in which Benji gets kicked by kidnappers.

benji.jpg

7)The Giza Pyramids. It’s hard to be the last one standing.

5 responses to “7 Petra-fied World Wonders

  1. wow. that thai life insurance commercial was hardcore.

  2. I’m totally with you on the Benji movie. I’m tearing up just thinking about it.

  3. omg becca that commercial? seriously gave me chills. so sad! dude the must be raking in the guilty-about-distance-from-children crowd dollars!

  4. I think that commercial was the saddest thing i have ever seen….and also the most GENIUS marketing strategy

  5. So that Thai commercial was cringe-inducing…the slow-mo shattering of the dad’s car and watch..very sad…look up who wrote that Bonnie Raitt song…you’ll shocked….or not…but a very interesting note indeed.

Leave a Reply

